Smashed Against Infinity (2017)

“My favourite track this week.”

-The ‘Spill on the track “Creation’s Riff”

Smashed Against Infinity is the 4th album by experimental musician Anthony Weis, released on March 1st, 2017.

“Quick work doesn’t mean less serious work, it depends on one’s self confidence and experience…I must warn you that everyone will think I work too fast…and that in time to come there will again be hard days, empty of inspiration. So one must strike while the iron is hot.”

-Vincent Van Gogh

The writing and recording of Smashed Against Infinity, my 4th and latest album, came together with a burst of energy unlike any project previously.  Midway through creating what I thought would be my next record, I got the distracting urge to write loud, more aggressive music, which in turn lead me back to my roots.  After beginning this album in September 2016, the music flooded out instinctively, with little rational oversight.  It was completely mixed by December.

Noisy garage rock, my roots, is what the album ended up becoming.  The goal was the sound of a loud rock band jamming in a garage somewhere.  This element was always present in my work, but here I decided it should become the focal point, for at least one album.

I further looked to the past through the reimagining of three songs that appeared on my first record Knowledge & Compromise.  These tracks reemerge completely dismembered and rearranged with 75%+ newly recorded parts, as “Creation’s Riff”, “Smashed Against Infinity”, and “Thus Spoke The Mountains”.  In their original form they’re a bit lacking, but had a spark I wanted to carve out and create a new piece around.

The rest of the album follows a similar suit, plenty of guitar tapping …distortion/fuzz…feedback…and some world music flourishes to add an additional layer to the mix.

This album follows up the four piece ambient rock suite Sound Continuous (2016), the sparser minimal rock album Aubade Crowning (2014), and the eclectic Knowledge & Compromise.  Smashed Against Infinity is available March 1st, 2017.

Stream the album via Spotify.

Buy the album via Bandcamp.

Stream the album via Soundcloud.

Track Listing

  1. Creation’s Riff (4:02)
  2. Bright Crisp Morning (4:14)
  3. What Else Is Sacred (4:58)
  4. Smashed Against Infinity (3:04)
  5. Oblivion Studies (3:12)
  6. Painting A Bridge In Arles (3:12)
  7. Eternity Sketches (3:19)
  8. Still Life With American Novels (3:45)
  9. Joy & Living (3:37)
  10. Thus Spoke The Mountains (4:13)
  11. Of All Achievement (3:56)

© 2017, Anthony Weis. All Rights Reserved.

One thought on “Smashed Against Infinity (2017)

Comments are closed.